Favorite Teams in Southern California BLOGS.

True Blue Los Angeles Baseball.

Home | Long Beach Armada Tribute. | True Blue Los Angeles Baseball. | Showers of Sparks. | Pecos Bill's Quack Attack. | Orange County Professional Sports BLOG.


1883: The Franchise was establish and played in Brooklyn, NY; until 1958.

1889: Was The Dodgers and The GIANTS only meeting in the World Series. The GIANTS beat The Dodgers 6 to 3. With both teams playing in the City of New York, The Dodgers and GIANTS became the fiercest rivalry in the History of Major League Sports. This rivalry continued when both teams moved to the West Coast in the Late Fifities.
1891: The Dodgers were called the "Trolley Dodgers."

1916 to 1934: The Daffyness Boys Era, where the franchise, led by Team Manager, Wilbert Robinson (AKA: "Uncle Robbie") helped made the team a constant contender.

1932: The Franchise officially became "The Dodgers."

1939: The very first Dodgers Game was televised between Brooklyn and the Cincinnati Reds.

1947: The Dodgers became the first franchise to sign an African American Player--Jackie Robinson.
1950: Walter O'Malley acquired Majority Ownership of the Dodgers.
1951: The Dodgers/GIANTS Rivalry intsensified in New Your during the National League Pennant Race when Booby Thompson hit his "Shot Heard'Round the World" which lifted The GIANTS to victory.
1958. Walter O'Malley moved his Brooklyn Dodgers to the West Coast and became the Los Angeles Dodgers.
NATIONAL LEAGUE PENNANTS: In Brooklyn--1890, 1899, 1900, 1916, 1920, 1941, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1953, 1955, and 1956.  In Los Angeles--1959, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1974, 1977, 1978, 1981, 1988.

WORLD SERIES RINGS: In Brooklyn- 1955; In Los Angeles- 1959, 1963, 1965, 1981, and 1988.

1954: Walter Alston began managing The Dodgers for 23 years, leading the team to 4 World Series Rings and 7 National League Pennants. Alston retired in 1976. Towards the end of the Alson Era, Walter O'Malley gave control of his team to his son Peter. Walter Alston was later inducted into the Hall of Fame.
1960 to 1965: Sandy Koufax and Don Drysdale combined to win 4 of the 5 the National League CY Young Awards during these five years. Maury Wills led the league in Stolen Bases every year during this time segment.

1962: During the Dodger's race for the NL Pennant, entertainer and Dodgers Fan, Danny Kaye; came up with the smash hit single: :D-O-D-G-E-R-S." Jackie Robinson was elected to the Hall of Fame.

1969: Roy Campanella was elected to the Hall of Fame.

  • Peewee Reese
  • Zack Wheat
  • Roy Campanella
  • Duke Snider
  • Jackie Robinson
  • Walter O'Malley
  • Walter Alston
  • Sandy Koufax
  • Don Drysdale
  • Don Sutton
  • Tommy Lasorda

1972: Sandy Koufax was elected to the Hall of Fame.

1977: Tommy Lasorda became the new Team Manager of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Lasorda helped lead the team to 2 World Series Championships in 1981 and 1988. He managed the Dodgers for 19 seasons, and he too was elected to the Hall of Fame.
1980: Duke Snider was elected to the Hall of Fame.
1981 Fernandomania: Fernando Valenzuela became the only pitcher in MLB History to win the National League Cy Young Award and National League Rookie of the Year in the same season.

1984: Peewee Reese was elected to the Hall of Fame, along with Don Drysdale.

1988 World Series: Was the last time the Los Angeles Dodgers ever won the World Series Championship. The Dodgers beat the Oakland A's 4 games to 1. Kirk Gibson won the World Series MVP Award. 

1992 to 1996: National League Rookie of the Year Awards were won each year consecutively by an Los Angeles Dodger.
  • 1992--Eric Karros
  • 1993--Mike Piazza
  • 1994--Raul Mondesi
  • 1995--Hideo Nomo
  • 1996--Todd Hollandsworth

1998: Peter O'Malley sold the Los Angeles Dodgers to Rupert Murdoch/FOX.

2003: Eric Gagne won the National League Cy Young Award.
2004: Frank McCourt purchased the Los Angeles Dodgers from Fox. He owned the team for close to 7 years, and was ordered to put the team up for salewhen a divorce from his wife and other financial problems resulted in The Franchise's bankrupcy.

2005: Ned Colletti became the Dodger GM.

21st CENTURY TRIPS TO THE NATIONAL LEAGUE POST SEASON: In 2004, The Dodgers made it to the Post Season for the first time in the new century, but lost the NLDS to the St. Louis Cardinals. During the 2006 Post Season, The Wild Card Winning Dodgers lost teh NLDS to the New York Mets. 
MANNYWOOD:After acquiring Manny Ramirez in a trade, and after Joe Torre became the Team Manager for The Dodgers, the Former Red Sox Slugger helped lead the Dodgers to NLDS Championships in 2008 and 2009. Both times, however, The Dodgers went on to lose the NL Pennant both times to the Philadelphia Phillies.
2011 SEASON: Don Mattingly took over as Team Manager after Joe Torre resigned.Clayton Kershaw won the Cy Young Award for the National League. Matt Kemp has the best year of his career, hitting 39 Homers and batting in 126 runs. He received the Roy Campanella Award for the 2011 Season and finished 2nd to Ryan Braun in the voting for National League MVP.
2012 Season: The Los Angeles Dodgers finally acquired new owners which include Stan Kasten, Peter Gruber, and Former L.A. Lakers Star, Magic Johnson. The team was sold for 2 Billion Dollars.

True Blue LA Baseball Computer Art.

Dodgers Blue Cow.

Only LA Baseball Team.

Any Questons (Real LA Team)?

Dodgers Memorabilia--GO BLUE!!

More Memorabilia.

Dodgers Gallery.

Dodgers in Guiness Book of Worlds Records.

Photo Bucket Graphics.